User Kits in DITI? (Read 3162 times)

pacothetortuga

more
  • Cool Kat
  • twitter.com/pacothetortuga
Instruments: drumKAT, DITI, jamKAT
User Kits in DITI?
July 18, 2019, 03:12:56 PM
I'd like to edit a User Kit from scratch in the DITI. But I don't see anything in the manual on how to start a new User Kit (despite several mentions of the User Kits). Any tips?

I've also seen several mentions (in the manual) of editing kits with MIDI SysEx dumps. I've never done this before. Do you recommend any software for editing the kits on a laptop and then sending them to the DITI?
« Last Edit: July 22, 2019, 04:18:39 PM by pacothetortuga »

pacothetortuga

more
  • Cool Kat
  • twitter.com/pacothetortuga
Instruments: drumKAT, DITI, jamKAT
#1 Re: User Kits in DITI?
July 22, 2019, 04:34:29 PM
UPDATE!

Re: User Kits
The bottom of page 7 of the DITI Manual (http://www.alternatemode.com/downloads/DITI/DITIMANUAL-DITI_2_5b_Manual.pdf) explains where the User Kits are (and why several of them appear to be preset kits, out of the box).

Re: How to send SysEx
(1) Connect MIDI OUT (IN) from your computer MIDI interface to MIDI IN (OUT) on the DITI (, respectively).
(2) Any of the following programs have relatively straightforward interfaces for saving, editing, sending, and receiving SysEX:

Some notes on my experience:
  • In SysEx Librarian, they send SysEx files by "playing" them. Push the big "play" button.
  • MIDI OX does not have an intuitive interface. I'm still struggling with it. However, it has a MIDI Monitor. And that was essential to diagnosing the problems I was having with my MIDI interfaces on Windows.
  • The DITI Editor freezes now and again (in my experience). So save your work often.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2019, 04:40:20 PM by pacothetortuga »

gmbydmit

more
  • KAT Diety
  • Go Ahead, make my millenium!
Instruments: trapKAT, malletKAT, drumKAT, DITI, jamKAT
#2 Re: User Kits in DITI?
September 16, 2019, 12:46:54 AM